Hassler Library
Rss Icon
Texas 2x2
The Texas 2x2 Reading List is a recommended list of 20 books for children ages 2 through 2nd grade. It is a fun way to read some really great books!

Texas Bluebonnet Award
The Texas Bluebonnet Award reading program was established as a way of encouraging children to read more books, read different genres of books, and to identify their favorite books. All students in grades 3-5 are encouraged to participate in this fun reading program.

Caldecott Medal
The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually to the artist of an American picture book with the best illustrations.

Newbery Medal
The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Geisel Award
The Geisel Award is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year. This award is named after the beloved Theodore Seuss Geisel, better know to all of us as Dr. Seuss.

Coretta Scott King Book Award
The Coretta Scott King Book Awards annually recognize outstanding books for young adults and children by African American authors and illustrators that reflect the African American experience.

Pura Belpré Award
The award is named after Pura Belpré, the first Latina librarian at the New York Public Library. It is presented to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.