Ehrhardt Library
Rss Icon
Texas Bluebonnet Award
The Texas BlueBonnet Award reading program
was established in 1979 to encourage Texas
children to read more, read books of different
variety, and identify their favorite books.
Students who read or listen to five of the
twenty books may vote for their favorite in January.
Texas 2x2 Reading List
The 2X2 Reading List is a project of the
Children’s Round Table, a unit of the
Texas Library Association. Each year,
the 2X2 Committee produces a list of
20 recommended books for children,
age two through grade two.
Newberry Medal
The Newberry Medal is awarded annually
by the Association for Library Service
to Children to the author of the most
distinguished contribution to American
literature for children.
Caldecott Medal
The Caldecott Medal is awarded annually
by the Association for Library Service
to Children to the artist of the most
distinguished American picture book for children.
ALA Notable Books
Each year a committee of the Association for
Library Service to Children identifies top
children's books. These "notable" books include
books of especially commendable quality,
books that exhibit venturesome creativity,
and books of fiction, information,
poetry and pictures for ages birth through 14.
The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award
The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award is given annually
to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most
distinguished American book for beginning
readers published in English in the United States
during the preceding year.
Coretta Scott King Award
The Coretta Scott King Award is given to
African American authors and illustrators
for outstanding inspirational and educational
contributions; the Coretta Scott King Book Award titles
promote understanding and of all peoples and their
contribution to the realization of the American dream.
The Pura Belpre Award
The Pura Belpré Award, established in 1996,
is presented to a Latino/Latina writer and
illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and
celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an
outstanding work of literature for children and youth.
The Laura Ingalls Wilder Award
The Laura Ingalls Wilder Award, a bronze medal,
honors an author or illustrator whose books,
published in the United States, have made,
over a period of years, a substantial and
lasting contribution to literature for children.
The Mildred L. Batchelder Award
The Batchelder Award is awarded to an American
publisher for a children's book considered to be
the most outstanding of those books originally
published in a foreign language in a foreign country,
and subsequently translated into English
and published in the United States.